Has anyone taken advantage of all the apple picking that is going on this month?  I haven’t got to go picking apples yet, but I got a great deal at the grocery store at $.99 a pound.

While at camp this weekend I decided to try making applesauce in the crock pot.  It came out
wonderfully.  The smell was amazing and everyone kept asking what we were cooking.

The recipe couldn’t be simpler.  I cut up a bunch of apples, a few varieties, into bit size pieces.  Put them in the crock pot with cinnamon and brown sugar.  That was it.  I didn’t measure
anything.  I did add water, but then needed to take some out at the end because it was to soupy.  I let it cook until I was able to mash with a fork.  If we had been at home I would have used my food processor to make it smooth, but homestyle was perfect for an afternoon snack.

I can’t wait to make this again.

